the fashionable table

Won’t You Be My Valentine – february ’13

Valentine's 2013 Table with Pompoms

This is my first blog post and the event in question was for Valentine’s day a year ago. So, I will add as much detail as I can remember, and I promise to take more pictures of my process and the food for future posts.

The hubby and I decided that instead of indulging in a night to ourselves we would celebrate the day of love with friends. With the long winter continuing on through February I went with the warm traditional colors of Valentines balanced with the cool colors of winter.

Valentine's 2013 Table Setting

I love using random objects in my table decorating. For instance, the little vases I used for the flower centerpiece are tea light holders that I found at a surplus store. I often come across things and have no idea what I will use them for.

If you like something, get it! You will probably find a great use for it. Same thing with the table-cloth. It is actually a curtain I found at target on clearance for about $3. I highly recommend browsing any store’s clearance aisle. Never know what you will to find!

Valentine's 2013 Centerpiece

Pom poms; aren’t they great!  I have to admit that I was dubious about this tissue decor. When I finally broke down and made these I was sold. They add color, depth and texture that is often only achieved with flowers. We all know that flowers can get expensive, so it is nice to have an alternative.

I noted that it is best to use at least 8 sheets of tissue paper when making a large pom pom, and preferably more. Otherwise they turn out a little sparse. When making the small ones 6 or 7 sheets is just about right.

Valentine's 2013 Full Table View

I have to say that the spoon on the bottom right place setting is driving me crazy!

What I liked about this design:
The happy mix of sleek modern with warm vibrant color.

What we served:
Baked Red Pepper Stuffed with Ricotta Cheese & Spinach
Poulet Farci Du Fromage Et Epinards (Chicken Stuffed with Spinach and Cheese) – We used one Cornish Game Hen per person

Valentine's 2013 Table Close Up

I wrapped little wired flowers around the wine glass stems to add some sass.

I wrapped little wired flowers around the wine glass stems to add some sass.

Valentine's 2013 Buffet with Wine

This entry was published on March 6, 2014 at 8:08 pm. It’s filed under dinner parties and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

